Bittersweet Mother’s Day

I was raped over and over and over again. It started before I was old enough to have my period. So I was 11 or 12. I got my period when I was 13. Got pregnant at 14. Delivered a beautiful, healthy, perfect, baby girl 6 days after my 15th birthday. And signed away my rights to her six weeks later so she could be adopted. I spent four days with her: the time I was in the hospital.

At the time, I was hidden away in a home for unwed mothers. Becoming pregnant was a huge shame in the family. Because I was molested by my brother, the shame was ten-fold. I kept the secret as long as I could, but my body betrayed me. My nipples began to leak at five months along. I denied being pregnant to myself and to the world as long as I could.

When it was found out, there was only about a month left of school until summer break. I hid it well. As soon as school let out, I “went away for the summer to camp.” When school started up in the fall, I “had gotten sick and was in a hospital in a neighboring state. And no one could visit me.” I was only three weeks late returning back to school in the fall. I was a mother and I could tell no one. Not even my best friend. To this day I have siblings that still don’t know.

I have been a mother for over thirty years now. But I’ve only been able to celebrate it openly since I had a child that I had in a socially acceptable way. A child that I have been able to celebrate being pregnant with, celebrate the birth of, and celebrate being a mother to. So, even though most of the world thinks I celebrate Mother’s Day as a mother of one beautiful child, I will always know that I have two children in my heart.

4 thoughts on “Bittersweet Mother’s Day

    1. persephone2013 Post author

      Thank you. I have given the adoption agency my contact information so that if my daughter every wants to meet her biological mother, it will be easy for her.

      Reply
  1. persephone2013 Post author

    Thank you. I am pretty sure that one day I will meet my daughter. Someone (?her adoptive mother) sent me an anonymous note last December, that was basically a thank you note for giving up my daughter. That she has been such a joy in their life. That was the second best Christmas present I’ve ever received (the first, being my son coming home from the NICU after his early birth).

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

