If I Wrote A Song It Would Go Like This

If I wrote a song, the title could be, “Birth Mother Searching.” I think it would go something like:

Birth mother searching, searching for answers
To questions that still haunt her in the night.
She’s searching for someone, someone to tell her
The decision she made all those years ago was right.

Did that tiny little girl have all the love she could have?
Are her hopes and dreams coming true?
Now that she’s a woman entering the world
With fearlessness held only by youth.

In my mind I see her playing, playing with dolls.
She’s the most beautiful little girl in the world.
While I go back to being a teen, hiding the truth,
It’s eating me up inside.

Hush, you can’t tell a soul.
It would disgrace the family.
No, it wasn’t you who did anything wrong,
But you are punished…you are the victim and it’s you who pays.

Birth mother searching, searching for answers
To questions that still haunt her in the night.
She’s searching for peace in her soul and mind
And hoping with all of her might

That one day there will be a phone call
A woman’s voice, nervous and hopeful
Asking the question she’s been waiting to answer
Are you my birth mother?

Feb. 27, 2004

 

7 thoughts on “If I Wrote A Song It Would Go Like This

  1. BigLizzy

    Persephone, This resonates with me so much. My sister gave a baby up for adoption 18 years ago and while she has somewhat stayed in touch with the family who adopted her boy, there is always that inner process, that pondering over whether she did the right thing and will the boy know the truth one day, etc. Such a compelling song/poem you offer us here, honey. I really enjoy this work. big, warm hugs to you, sis. Love, BigLizzy.

    Reply
    1. persephone2013 Post author

      Lizzy, sorry it’s taken so long to reply to you. Thank you for sharing. I actually got an anonymous note just before Christmas 2014, thanking me for my daughter. I don’t know who wrote it, as the tone of the note didn’t sound like what a mother would write. Nevertheless, I feel in my heart that she’s grown up having a good life. My intuitive friends tell me she’s married with children. I’d love to even just see a photo of her. She turns 36 this fall.

      Reply
      1. BigLizzy

        Pesephone-babe, You can see her. In meditation, ask your guides or her guides to come forward and show you a photo of her. If you can get yourself calm and centered enough, you will be shown. This is how I met four of my spirit guides. In meditation, I asked them to line up and one-by-one, to step forward so I could “see” them. My guides formed a line that stretched beyond the horizon; that’s how many I had. I only had time to meet the first four, but it was an incredible experience that I’ll never forget. Try it, honey. I would love to hear the results. XOXO

        Reply
        1. persephone2013 Post author

          Thanks Lizzy. I never considered that. I’ve met a few of my guides this way, too. Saw them, got their names, and felt their energy. I’ll give it a try.

          Reply

Share Your Thoughts

